MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF TYWYN TOWN COUNCIL HELD ON THURSDAY 10TH DECEMBER 2020 AT NEUADD PENDRE TYWYN AT 7.00PM

PRESENT: Councillor Nancy Clarke (Chair)

Councillors: Ron W. McCoo, John Pughe, Anne Lloyd-Jones, Gareth Mason

Mike Stevens, Marisa D. O'Hara, Eileen Jones, Aled M.Lewis, Cathy

Evans, Alun Wyn Evans, Joseph Smith, Matthew Cooling

OFFICERS PRESENT: None

Cl. 01 <u>ELECTION OF CHAIR FOR 2020 - 2021</u>

10.12.20

Nominations were invited for the position of Chair of Tywyn Town Council and Mayor of the town for 2020 – 2021.

Councillor John Pughe proposed Councillor Eileen Jones be elected Chair of Tywyn Town Council and Mayor of the town for 2020 – 2021, with Councillor Marisa O'Hara seconding the proposal

RESOLVED: That Councillor Eileen Jones be elected Chair of Tywyn Town Council and Mayor of the Town for 2020 – 2021.

Cl. 02 **APOLOGIES:**

10.12.20 Francesca Pridding, Town Clerk

Cl. 03 **DECLARATION OF INTEREST:**

10.12.20 Councillor Joseph Smith – Partner is Director and Trustee of Ynysymaengwyn

Cl. 04 RECEIVE THE CHAIR'S DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

10.12.20 The Chair's Declaration of Acceptance of Office was received

Cl. 05 <u>ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR FOR 2020 - 2021</u>

10.12.20

Nominations were invited for the position of Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2020 – 2021.

Councillor Aled Lewis proposed that Councillor John Pughe be elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2020 – 2021, with Councillor Marisa O'Hara seconding the proposal.

RESOLVED: That Councillor John Pughe be elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town

Council for 2020 – 2021.

Cl. 06 RECEIVE THE VICE CHAIR'S DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

10.12.20

The Vice Chair's Declaration of Acceptance of Office was received

Cl. 07 **REVIEW COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE**

10.12.20 It was noted that the Terms of Reference presented at the meeting were not up to date, however a vote was taken on all the Terms of Reference at once.

RESOLVED: To approve the Terms of Reference as presented with Councillor

Nancy Clarke proposing and Councillor John Pughe seconding the

motion.

Cl. 08 <u>APPOINT MEMBERS TO COMMITTEES</u> 08.05.19

8.1 Finance Committee

8.2 Planning Committee

8.3 Environment Committee

8.4 Personnel Committee

8.5 Personnel Appeals Panel

RESOLVED: To appoint members to the Council's Committees as follows, with

Councillor Eileen Jones proposing and Councillor John Pughe

seconding the proposal:

8.1 Finance Committee

Cllrs Gareth Mason, Aled Lewis, Mike Stevens, Eileen Jones, Nancy Clarke, Anne Lloyd-Jones, John Pughe

8.2 Planning Committee

Cllrs Ron McCoo, Alun Wyn Evans, John Pughe, Joseph Smith, Cathy Evans, Nancy Clarke

8.3 Environment Committee

Cllrs Ron McCoo, Joseph Smith, Matthew Cooling, Marisa O'Hara, Nancy Clarke, Gareth Mason

8.4 Personnel Committee

Cllrs Ron McCoo, John Pughe, Aled Lewis, Gareth Mason, Matthew Cooling, Alun Wyn Evans.

8.5 Personnel Appeals Panel

Cllrs Nancy Clarke, Cathy Evans, Anne Lloyd-Jones, Eileen Jones, Marisa O'Hara

Cl. 9 NOMINATE AND APPOINT MEMBERS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

10.12.20

- 9.1 One Voice Wales
- 9.2 Meirionnydd Access Group
- 9.3 Penybryn School Governing Body
- 9.4 Greener Tywyn

RESOLVED: To appoint representatives as follows to the outside bodies:

9.1 One Voice Wales

Cllr Alun Wyn Evans as proposed by Councillor John Pughe and seconded by Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones

9.2 Meirionnydd Access Group

Cllr John Pughe as proposed by Councillor Eileen Jones and Councillor Marisa O'Hara

9.3 Penybryn School Governing Body

Cllr Cathy Evans as proposed by Councillor Ron McCoo and seconded by John Pughe

9.4 Greener Tywyn

Cllrs. Marisa O'Hara and Aled Lewis as proposed by Councillor John Pughe and seconded by Councillor Eileen Jones

Cl. 10 <u>YNYSYMAENGWYN TRUST REPRESENTATIVE</u>

10.12.20

RESOLVED: To appoint Councillor Aled Lewis with Councillor John Pughe proposing and Councillor Nancy Clarke seconding the motion

Cl. 11 APPROVE DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS 2019 - 2020

10.12.20

RESOLVED: To approve the dates of Council Meetings, time and venue as noted on the list for 2020 – 2021 with Councillor Eileen Jones proposing and Councillor John Pughe seconding the motion.

Cl. 12 **REVIEW AND ADOPT STANDING ORDERS**

10.12.20

RESOLVED: To adopt the Standing Orders with Councillor Nancy Clarke proposing and Councillor John Pughe seconding the motion.

Cl. 13 **REVIEW AND ADOPT FINANCIAL REGULATIONS**

10.12.20

RESOLVED: To adopt the Financial Regulations with Councillor Nancy Clarke proposing and Councillor Aled Lewis seconding the motion.

Cl. 14 APPOINTMENT OF INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2019/2020

10.12.20

RESOLVED: To appoint Luned Fon Jones, Internal Audit Service Manager of Gwynedd Council as the Internal Auditor for 2020/2021 with Councillor John Pughe proposing and Councillor Nancy Clarke seconding the motion.

The Annual Meeting was declared closed at 8:15 pm

CADEIRYDD / CHAIRMAN