# MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF TYWYN TOWN COUNCIL HELD ON WEDNESDAY 8<sup>TH</sup> MAY 2019 AT YSGOL UWCHRADD TYWYN AT 7.00PM

**PRESENT:** Councillor Nancy Clarke (Chair)

Councillors: Ron W. McCoo, John Pughe, Anne Lloyd-Jones, Quentin E. Deakin

Mike Stevens, Marisa D. O'Hara, Eileen Jones, Aled M.Lewis, Cathy

Evans, Alun Wyn Evans

**OFFICERS PRESENT:** Francesca Pridding (Town Clerk)

# Cl. 01 **ELECTION OF CHAIR FOR 2019 - 2020**

08.05.19

Nominations were invited for the position of Chair of Tywyn Town Council and Mayor of the town for 2019 – 2020.

Councillor Quentin Deakin proposed Councillor Eileen Jones be elected Chair of Tywyn Town Council and Mayor of the town for 2019 – 2020, with Councillor Mike Stevens seconding the proposal

Councillor Aled Lewis proposed that Councillor Nancy Clarke be elected Chair of Tywyn Town Council and Mayor of the town for 2019 – 2020, with Councillor Ron McCoo seconding the proposal.

It was put to the vote and by a majority vote, Councillor Nancy Clarke was elected Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2019 – 2020.

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Nancy Clarke be elected Chair of Tywyn Town

Council and Mayor of the Town for 2019 – 2020.

Cl. 02 **APOLOGIES:** 

08.05.19 Councillor Hilary Rowlands

Cl. 03 **DECLARATION OF INTEREST:** 

08.05.19 None

Cl. 04 RECEIVE THE CHAIR'S DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

08.05.19 The Chair's Declaration of Acceptance of Office was received

Cl. 05 <u>ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR FOR 2019 - 2020</u>

08.05.19

Nominations were invited for the position of Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2019 – 2020.

Councillor Nancy Clarke proposed that Councillor Eileen Jones be elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2019-2020, with Councillor Cathy Evans seconding the proposal.

Councillor Mike Stevens proposed that Councillor John Pughe be elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2019 – 2020, however Councillor John Pughe declined to step forward.

With no further names put forward, it was put to the vote and by majority vote, Councillor Eileen Jones was elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2019 – 2020.

**RESOLVED:** That Councillor Eileen Jones be elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town

Council for 2019 – 2020.

# Cl. 06 RECEIVE THE VICE CHAIR'S DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

08.05.19

The Vice Chair's Declaration of Acceptance of Office was received

# Cl. 07 **REVIEW COMMITTEE TERMS OF REFERENCE**

08.05.19

#### 7.1 Finance Committee

**RESOLVED:** To approve the Terms of Reference without alteration with Councillor Nancy Clarke proposing and Councillor Eileen Jones seconding the proposal.

### 7.2 Planning Committee

**RESOLVED:** To approve the Terms of Reference with the Membership of the Committee reduced to 6 members with Councillor Marisa O'Hara proposing and Councillor Aled Lewis seconding the proposal.

#### 7.3 Environment Committee

**RESOLVED:** To approve the Terms of Reference with the Membership of the Committee reduced to 6 members with Councillor Aled Lewis proposing and Councillor Nancy Clarke seconding the proposal.

#### 7.4 Personnel Committee

**RESOLVED:** To approve the Terms of Reference without alteration with Councillor Nancy Clarke proposing and Councillor John Pughe seconding the proposal.

#### 7.5 Personnel Appeals Panel

**RESOLVED:** To approve the Terms of Reference with the Membership of the Committee increased to 5 members with Councillor Nancy Clarke proposing and Councillor Cathy Evans seconding the proposal.

# Cl. 08 **APPOINT MEMBERS TO COMMITTEES**

08.05.19

- 8.1 Finance Committee
- 8.2 Planning Committee
- 8.3 Environment Committee
- 8.4 Personnel Committee

#### 8.5 Personnel Appeals Panel

**RESOLVED:** To appoint members to the Council's Committees as follows, with

Councillor Nancy Clarke proposing and Councillor Eileen Jones

seconding the proposal:

#### 8.1 Finance Committee

Cllrs Quentin Deakin, Aled Lewis, Mike Stevens, Eileen Jones, Nancy Clarke, Anne Lloyd-Jones

# 8.2 Planning Committee

Cllrs Ron McCoo, Alun Wyn Evans, John Pughe, Marisa O'Hara, Cathy Evans, Nancy Clarke

#### 8.3 Environment Committee

Cllrs Ron McCoo, Quentin Deakin, Mike Stevens, Marisa O'Hara, Nancy Clarke, Hilary Rowlands

#### 8.4 Personnel Committee

**RESOLVED:** To retain the same membership as the previous year with Councillor Aled Lewis proposing and Councillor Nancy Clarke seconding the proposal. Therefore, Cllrs Ron McCoo, John Pughe, Aled Lewis, Eileen Jones, Hilary Rowlands remain members.

#### 8.5 Personnel Appeals Panel

Cllrs Nancy Clarke, Cathy Evans, Alun Wyn Evans, Anne Lloyd-Jones and a space remains vacant to be filled by the newly elected Councillor when in post.

# Cl. 9 NOMINATE AND APPOINT MEMBERS TO OUTSIDE BODIES

08.05.19

- 9.1 One Voice Wales
- 9.2 Meirionnydd Access Group
- 9.3 Penybryn School Governing Body
- 9.4 Greener Tywyn

**RESOLVED:** To appoint representatives as follows to the outside bodies:

#### 9.1 One Voice Wales

Cllr Alun Evans as proposed by Councillor John Pughe and seconded by Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones

# 9.2 Meirionnydd Access Group

Cllr John Pughe as proposed by Councillor Aled Lewis and Councillor Marisa O'Hara

# 9.3 Penybryn School Governing Body

Cllr Hilary Rowlands as proposed by Councillor Ron McCoo and seconded by Nancy Clarke

#### 9.4 Greener Tywyn

Cllrs. Marisa O'Hara and Aled Lewis as proposed by Councillor Nancy Clarke and seconded by Councillor John Pughe

# Cl. 10 <u>YNYSYMAENGWYN TRUST REPRESENTATIVE</u>

08.05.19

**RESOLVED:** To defer until after Trust Meeting date tbc. with Councillor George Stevens proposing and Councillor Quentin Deakin seconding the motion.

# Cl. 11 APPROVE DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS 2019 - 2020

08.05.19

**RESOLVED:** To approve the dates of Council Meetings, time and venue as noted on the list for 2019 – 2020 with Councillor Eileen Jones proposing and Councillor Ron McCoo seconding the motion.

# Cl. 12 **REVIEW AND ADOPT STANDING ORDERS**

08.05.19

**RESOLVED:** To adopt the Standing Orders with Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones proposing and Councillor Aled Lewis seconding the motion.

# Cl. 13 **REVIEW AND ADOPT FINANCIAL REGULATIONS**

08.05.19

**RESOLVED:** To adopt the Financial Regulations with Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones proposing and Councillor Ron McCoo seconding the motion.

# Cl. 14 APPOINTMENT OF INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2019/2020

08.05.19

**RESOLVED:** To appoint Luned Fon Jones, Internal Audit Service Manager of Gwynedd Council as the Internal Auditor for 2019/2020 with Councillor Ron McCoo proposing and Councillor Nancy Clarke seconding the motion.

The Annual Meeting was declared closed at 7:51 pm

**CADEIRYDD / CHAIRMAN**