MINUTES OF THE ANNUAL MEETING OF TYWYN TOWN COUNCIL HELD ON WEDNESDAY 9TH MAY 2018 AT YSGOL UWCHRADD TYWYN AT 7.00PM

PRESENT: Councillor Nancy Clarke (Chair)

Councillors: Ron W. McCoo, John Pughe, Nancy E. Clarke, Quentin E. Deakin

Mike Stevens, Marisa D. O'Hara, Eileen Jones, Aled M.Lewis, Cathy

Evans, Harriet Webb

OFFICERS PRESENT: Francesca Pridding (Town Clerk)

Cl. 01 **APOLOGIES:**

09.05.18

Councillor Anne Lloyd-Jones Councillor Alun Wyn Evans

Cl. 02 **DECLARATION OF INTEREST:**

09.05.18

None

Cl. 03 **ELECTION OF CHAIR FOR 2018 - 2019**

09.05.18

Nominations were invited for the position of Chair of Tywyn Town Council and Mayor of the town for 2018 – 2019.

Councillor Aled Lewis proposed that Councillor Nancy Clarke be elected Chair of Tywyn Town Council and Mayor of the town for 2018 – 2019, with Councillor Eileen Jones seconding the proposal.

It was put to the vote and by majority vote, Councillor Nancy Clarke was elected Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2018 – 2019.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Nancy Clarke be elected Chair of Tywyn Town

Council and Mayor of the Town for 2018 – 2019.

Cl. 04 RECEIVE THE CHAIR'S DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

09.05.18

The Chair's Declaration of Acceptance of Office was received

Cl. 05 **ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR FOR 2018 - 2019**

09.05.18

Nominations were invited for the position of Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2018 – 2019.

Councillor Aled Lewis proposed that Councillor Eileen Jones be elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2018 – 2019, with Councillor Cathy Evans seconding the proposal.

Councillor Mike Stevens proposed that Councillor John Pughe be elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2018 – 2019, with Councillor Quentin Deakin seconding the proposal.

With no further names put forward, it was put to the vote and by majority vote, Councillor Eileen Jones was elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town Council for 2018 – 2019.

RESOLVED: That Councillor Eileen Jones be elected Vice Chair of Tywyn Town

Council for 2018 – 2019.

Cl. 06 RECEIVE THE VICE CHAIR'S DECLARATION OF ACCEPTANCE OF OFFICE

09.05.18

The Vice Chair's Declaration of Acceptance of Office was received

Cl. 07 <u>APPOINT MEMBERS AND ELECT CHAIR OF COMMITTEES</u> 09.05.18

- 1) Finance Committee
- 2) Planning Committee
- 3) Environment Committee
- 4) Personnel Committee
- 5) Personnel Appeals Panel
- 6) Ynys-y-Maengwyn Trust

Councillor Mike Stevens proposed to that the Chair of Committees should remain as in 2017-2018 to enable continuity. It was also proposed by Councillor Mike Stevens that the membership of these Committees should remain the same for the year 2018-19

Councillor Hilary Rowlands expressed her desire to be appointed to the Environment Committee and then confirmed that she would be willing to sit on the Committees as vacated by ex-councillor Frank Bridle.

RESOLVED: To retain the membership of the Council's Committees as follows, with Councillor Mike Stevens proposing and Councillor Quentin Deakin seconding the proposal:

1) Finance Committee

Cllrs Alun Evans, Nancy Clarke, Aled Lewis, Eileen Jones, Mike Stevens, Hilary Rowlands

2) Planning Committee

Cllrs Alun Evans, Nancy Clarke, Quentin Deakin, Ron McCoo, Marisa O'Hara, John Pughe, Anne Lloyd-Jones, Harriet Webb

3) Environment Committee

Cllrs Alun Evans, Nancy Clarke, Aled Lewis, Cathy Evans, Ron McCoo, Marisa O'Hara, Hilary Rowlands, Quentin Deakin, Harriet Webb

4) Personnel Committee

Cllrs Mike Stevens, John Pughe, Aled Lewis, Eileen Jones, Hilary Rowlands

5) Personnel Appeals Panel

Cllrs Nancy Clarke, Cathy Evans, Alun Evans, Anne Lloyd-Jones

6) Ynys-y-Maengwyn Trust All Councillors

Cl. 8 09.05.18 1. One Voice Wales 2. Ann Owen Charity Committee 3. Meirionnydd Access Group 4. Penybryn School Governing Body

RESOLVED: To appoint representatives as follows to the outside bodies:

1) One Voice Wales
Cllr Alun Evans

2) Ann Owen Charity Committee
No Longer Required

3) Meirionnydd Access Group
To appoint Cllr John Pughe

4) Penybryn School Governing Body Cllr Hilary Rowlands

Cl. 9 **APPROVE DATES OF COUNCIL MEETINGS 2017 - 2018** 09.05.18

RESOLVED: To approve the dates of Council Meetings, time and venue as noted on the list for 2018 – 2019 with Councillor Marisa O'Hara proposing and Councillor Hilary Rowlands seconding the motion

Cl. 10 **REVIEW AND ADOPT STANDING ORDERS** 09.05.18

09.05.18

RESOLVED: To adopt the Standing Orders with Councillor Ron McCoo proposing and Councillor Eileen Jones seconding the motion

Cl. 11 <u>REVIEW AND ADOPT FINANCIAL REGULATIONS</u>

RESOLVED: To adopt the Financial Regulations with Councillor Mike Stevens proposing and Councillor Ron McCoo seconding the motion

Cl. 12 <u>APPOINTMENT OF INTERNAL AUDITOR FOR 2018/2019</u> 09.05.18

RESOLVED: To appoint Luned Fon Jones, Internal Audit Service Manager of Gwynedd Council as the Internal Auditor for 2018/2019 with Councillor John Pughe proposing and Councilor Ron McCoo seconding the motion

The Annual Meeting was declared closed at 7:32 pm

CADEIRYDD / CHAIRMAN